Not About That Life

In my life, I have been introduced to MANY groups. I have participated in many groups. Having networks makes you feel good and gives you a sense of comfort and normalcy.  But the moment someone says that I am part of their exclusive group, I let them know I am out.

I have learned to have boundaries with groups and people so that I can enjoy the mutual benefits of having a network without being identified as one of them.

I break the group mentality by throwing curveballs every now and then. I shut down the groupthink strongholds that members come up with even if it is awkward. And I like it when outsiders are included in the group.

I dare to be outcasted just to be in the cast of truth. I extend my reach (or at least I know that’s the right thing to do.)

I decline most labels even if they bring a vain comfort. But, I accept the labels that work for me and decline to discuss the ones that have not revealed themselves. I am conscious about labels and do not let them dominate my ability to grow, but use them to make a statement when appropriate.

I am always transplanted, not where I belong because the journey is where I belong.

The Consequences of Sticking to Groups

Jude 1 talks about bad people slipping into “the group.” You would think that they are easily identifiable, but they can sometimes blend in very well. These people can be charmers or they can be the ones who bring strongholds into the group.

They may dominate the direction of the group in a way that makes “outsiders” not want to receive the message you would want to share with the world.

They may be your enthusiasts when you declare what they would want to hear. They may like tradition and steer your group into the comfort of rituals even if these rituals isolate others. They reiterate obnoxious sentiments and are quick to say what’s in and what’s out.

Not About That Groupthink Life

I really think the Jude 1 mentality is why Jesus was so quick to get up and move from one place to another. In the Bible, the group would want him to stay with them and he was like, “alright two days max, guys.”  Jesus was not about that whole groupthink life.

Imagine all the people who get iced out because of these group rules sneaking in; (and yes I have seen rules sneak into groups who promise to be conscious about not making rules.)

Groupsters forget that it is God’s will that everyone be saved. Jesus tells believers to watch yourself in Luke 17: 1-3.

Don’t get me wrong. This philosophy of mine does not give me a license to be a jerk, fight eye for an eye, or not have compassion on the culprits who try to lead others into groupthink. Instead, it gives me a license to check my own self and to make sure I don’t get too comfortable with groups and use my networks as a way to give love, share peace, and have boundaries.

Leave a comment