The Yes-Zone – A Correction To My Previous Post

Dear Ministry Friends,

My words can become very sharp like daggers anytime they are shaped by emotion, precise in its incisions. I have to use my free will to never form a dagger and to always form grace.

Who am I to judge if I no longer fill a hole in your heart? No really, who am I? Ego? God’s word speaks of where to put that.

Unless I’m snatching anyone out of a fire (Jude 1:23), there is no reason for my words to be like daggers, piercing through mental mechanisms that drive hearts away.

I can speak with precision when describing my feelings by writing them down because God gave me that ability. However, my words do not replace God’s words:

“For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart” Hebrews 4:12 NIV

The word of God is the one with authority to pierce because:

His ways are higher than my ways and His thoughts are higher than my thoughts. Isaiah 55:9

My friends, there is a very precise truth of all of our wrong doings. But by pointing to them, I will never point you to Christ because Christ is on the other side of this truth. He is on the side of grace.

Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them. Matthew 5:17 (NIV)

I will be honest:

The reasons for my fiery words in my previous posts may have been fear driven. Even though:

God has not given me the spirit of fear but of love, power, and a sound mind. 2 Timothy 1:7 NIV

My job in any perceived rejection as I move forward, more than anything is to not look at my flesh nor is it to sharply reproof you. That is God’s job. My job is to walk in love despite feeling hurt. To be happy that you got something from God out of me.

I have never had a reward-seeking personality (but a punishment-avoidance personality—Psychology 101), so it is a good reminder that my labor of love (which feels nothing like labor) will never be in vain.

Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain. 1 Corinthians 15:58 (NIV)

(And I totally went straight for the punishment-avoidant incentive bible quote rather than the one about rewards.)

Gentleness and kindness can never be manifested when we are so concerned with people hurting us. And I know that with God on my side, I can get past the sharpness of my emotions unto continuing in God’s grace.

Leave a Reply

