Sensuality is not Spirituality

A good song can heal you or a sensual song can seduce you. Are you drawn closer to God, or to a sensual spirit?

Sometimes when I am worn out I might listen to the singer Brook Annibale on Spotify. One day, I was listening to her song Patience while laying in bed worn out. I finally asked myself by what spirit her music calms me.

I concluded that her music brought me closer to God’s love whereas some songs from Lady Gaga draw me toward more feelings of 1vain hysteria, particularly her one song Telephone.

One song brings peace, the other brings a manic high. Though a Lady Gaga manic high can be loads of fun, I have to ask, what draws me closer to faith in drawing from the Holy Spirit?

Prayer is spiritual. Good feelings are sensual. Which one is which?

The funny thing about being in fellowship with God is that the peace that passes all understanding is not from any sensual experience you can conjure up.

Loads of coffee on a Sunday morning before fellowship or church service? Sensuality. Loads of praying while desiring all sorts of cravings to satisfy the flesh? Spirituality. Isn’t it ironic? (Don’t ya think.)

Drugs appeal to the senses. Prayer appeals to Holy Spirit.

I am a sucker for Folk music. I am fascinated by travelers who live carefree offering their lives as a sacrifice to the arts. These people own their lives and do not conform to the standards of the world. I find myself often seduced by riding the tides of a Mogli song, the Lion’s Roar.

So I am conflicted: Free spirits too are non-conforming living sacrifices. We have to observe God’s whole truth: I admire free spirits who observe the first half of Romans 12:2 about not conforming, but transformation will not come from my senses but by the renewing of my mind.

When I admire free spirits, I also desire to observe both what the good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God is. That is a choice drawn from my free will, not from my senses.

And while I can admire the adventures of Mogli from Expedition Happiness, enjoy Lady Gaga’s newest song, Million Reasons, and feel healing from Brooke Annibale’s Don’t Let The Tell You, I proceed with cognition.

1 Vanity is not God’s best plan, but I am also free to experience it because I have free will. (Hence, why I feel confident enough to provide links to these songs.)

We try to experience purpose with documentaries such as Minimalism: A Documentary about the Important Things. It’s so good. Or any good Netflix movie. That is the liberty we have in Jesus Christ, to live this more than abundant life and therefore 1vanity is a part of the human experience.

My 2017 Exhortation to you and myself is that we remember that we are in control of sensuality and not the other way around.

We are going to experience the sensual things of life, but pursuing the things of the Spirit, that is God’s Spirit, will always be the greater goal.

Last Thing: We cannot possibly experience the peace that passes understanding from God, until we have thrown all of our sensual desires into God’s hands: Skip the coffee, the marijuana, the music, the wine, the dark chocolate one day (if you find that you are substituting it for prayer). Throw it all to God in prayer and you will experience fellowship with God that is purely spiritual.

Phillipians 4:6-7
Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

1) Vanity Definition Used in Blog:
“All worldly things; is vanity — Not in themselves, for they are God’s creatures, and therefore good in their kinds, but in reference to that happiness which men seek and expect to find in them.” – Benson Commentary

Like this post? Click on #New Age Deception where I touch on: Seduction, Freudian Psychology, Universalism, Familiar Spirits and Mega Churches.

One thought on “Sensuality is not Spirituality

Leave a Reply

