Extinguish That “Moment”

There is a moment, right before I am about to speak the truth about the healing power of our Lord Jesus Christ, where I hesitate.

It is a moment of empathy toward the feelings that “it’s not going to work.” It’s a moment where my brain entertains the idea that I am setting myself up to look like a fool because someone doesn’t believe me when I say that Jesus’ real life ability to heal is independent of medical science, a field that I have genuine thankfulness for. And I remember that these are the moments that were expected to come. That I would hear the naysayer’s position, but I would not succumb to the temptation to give up.

I learned that I will not cry prematurely as long as there’s an ounce of breath in someone that is sick. I will not reject the idea of raising the dead as it can glorify God and can be done without causing chaos in people’s hearts.

If you read about Lazarus, you can empathize with these same feelings of doubt. How the heck is that miracle going to happen? We don’t see how you can be dead and smell like death and look like death and be raised from the dead.

John 11 (NIV)
His disciples replied, “Lord if he sleeps, he will get better.” Jesus had been speaking of his death, but his disciples thought he meant natural sleep.

So then he told them plainly, “Lazarus is dead, and for your sake I am glad I was not there, so that you may believe. But let us go to him.”

Our Lord Jesus Christ has been raised from the dead in an immortal fashion and is sitting on the right side of our heavenly Father. He did not stay dead. He was not ascended without death. He laid in a tomb, breathless for three days. And he absorbed every single sin. And he became our redemption for sin. He is the way back into reconciliation with God.

John 11 (NIV)
Jesus said to her, “Your brother will rise again.”

Martha answered, “I know he will rise again in the resurrection at the last day.”

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?”

Adam and Eve gave us the ability to die because we were given the knowledge of good and evil. It is a knowledge at work in our carnal bodies every day (Ge 2:17). So now that we have it, we choose to let go of pursuing those things that cause separation from the Father.

Evil is simple to spot—it’s any works in you that defy what God wants.

We do not partake any longer in dark fellowship, eating from the tree of knowledge of good and evil. We digest that which fosters an environment for healthy living in our body. And it’s not just the food that we eat that fosters this environment but the word of God that helps us live. The way we live our lives is an outward expression of what we digest.

Jeremiah 15:16 (NIV)
When your words came, I ate them; they were my joy and my heart’s delight, for I bear your name, Lord God Almighty.

You know a tree by its fruit. True love is an organic expression that extends God’s love to others due to our thankfulness for all the things that God has done for us. And if anybody hears God’s message being preached without a heart of thankfulness to God, with judgment, or contradictory to what is good, then we know it is not from God (Mt 7:15-20).

John 10:10 (NIV)
The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

He gave us power over all evil forces in the world.

What did the world give us? That voice that tells us this is not true. We choose to say no to the loud voices in the world that deny anything that God has said belongs to us through Christ.

Luke 10:20 (NIV)
However, do not rejoice that the spirits submit to you, but rejoice that your names are written in heaven.

Walk out in this world knowing who God has called you out to be.

*Like this post? It has a Compatible Poem! To know a Tree. Check it out and leave a comment or hit ‘like’ if you like it.

2 thoughts on “Extinguish That “Moment”

Leave a Reply

