The Dignity of Women

A few weeks ago, a good male buddy and I were conversing back and forth about women and their sense of safety. He was surprised to hear that many women I know have suffered some sort of sexual assault by strange men: simple or complex. But, I will not fuel bitter energy toward the carnal man.

The carnal man’s behavior cannot be defended. He is dead in trespasses and sins. The carnal man cannot respect women and want to overpower them. This is literally part of what God means when he says that sin leads to destruction. Women, being the physically weaker sex, lose. Without God, the weaker always loses to the stronger. This is the animal kingdom.

Here’s the thing: I don’t live in the animal kingdom. I live in God’s kingdom. I am not ignorant of the flesh and how it tries to cling onto the new creation like a tapeworm. When men fail society, this is where I walk by faith and not by sight.

Paul, a prominent writer in the New Testament operated in the flesh before Christ showed up in a vision and asked him why he persecuted him and then brought his sin to light. He then went on to encourage men to love their wives as Christ loved the Church and reproved the Church through letters that we to this day can refer back to in order to keep ourselves in check.

Only God can change the heart of a man. It does no good to continue to bring up just how low the carnal man can go, but rather how high our Heavenly Father can take us. We are seated at the right hand of God. His will is that all men are to be saved. And you know what, I’m choosing not to be mad at God for that.

I am fully convinced that God has not left us nor forsaken us and can continue his work toward preserving the dignity and respect of womanhood.

Like this post? Check out my post, My heart is filled with… where I describe being joyful by faith while in the midst of sadness.

3 thoughts on “The Dignity of Women

Leave a Reply

